Meteora Monasteries - The Agios Stefanos Monastery in Meteora is a must-visit for history buffs. According to legend, the Serbian ruler Nicephorus II of Epirus was the father of St. Antoninus Cantacuzene, the founder of the monastery in 1400. After being damaged during World War II, the monastery was abandoned, but in 1961, it was transformed into a nunnery and is now home to 28 nuns. The 19th-century main church, dedicated to Agios Chararampos, is a sight to behold, complete with stunning wall paintings created by the talented priest Ioannis of Stagoi. A small museum on-site boasts an impressive collection of religious artifacts. Be sure to dress appropriately when visiting the Agios Stefanos Monastery in Meteora, Greeceand prepare to be awed by the breathtaking views of the surrounding area.

►View all Meteora sightseeing

Explore the secrets of Meteora!

Book a Tour Find a Room