The Symi Archaeological Museum, founded in 1961, is located in the neighbourhood of Agios Athanasios in Town, as the old part of the town is  known. It is housed in an ‘archontiko’ (‘mansion house’) that comprises an ‘upper floor, ground floor, kitchen, cistern and courtyard’, with  neoclassical features added in 1875. The exhibits cover the history of the island from the Prehistoric period down to Post-Byzantine times.