It is one of the most important monuments in the capital of Andros. This famous castle was the fortified residence of the Venetian ruler Marino Dandolo, when he conquered the island. It was built in 1207. The towers and barracks of the castle, as well as the Venetian rulers’ coats of arms, were well preserved until 1943, when the ferocious bombing by the Germans destroyed it completely. Nowadays, one can only see its ruins.