Minoan Vasiliki - is located across the exit of the gorge of Ha and near the Minoan settlement of Gournia, at an elevated point that controlled the valley of Ierapetra. Existed since 2600BC. The main buildings were destroyed by fire in 2300BC then rebuilt on the hilltop. The first excavations were made in 1900 by Americans H. Boyd and R.B. Seager, but the most systematic excavations were made by A. Zois. They discovered a Minoan mansion (on the hill) with storage rooms and a courtyard.