Frangokastello - is in the area of Sfakia, on the south coast of west Crete, 13 km east of Chora Sfakion and west of Plakias. There stands one of the most beautiful Venetian fortresses, Fragokastello, built in 1371. The village is very much developed with nice beaches and clean waters with many visitors. Frangokastello took its name from the castle the Venetians built right on the beach in 1371, to protect themselves from pirates and from the constant revolts of the locals. The Venetians called it Castel Franco. The fortress consists of a big corners with square towers. Above the main entrance to the castle there is a sculptured slate with the Lion of Saint Mark and two Venetian feudal coat of arms. The last repairs to the castle where made by the Turks in 1866.